November 3, 2022

Nominations for the Business Angel of the Year 2022 awards just started

We are happy to announce that the nominations for 2022 Business Angel of the Year Awards (BAY) are now open! The goal of the competition is to reward leading angel investors who support the startup ecosystem. It's a competition for the entire investor and startup community to recognize those who strive to expand their portfolios with a variety of ventures, as well as bring value, support the development and growth of the startups they have under their wings.

Nominate business angels and VC funds HERE.

Each ecosystem participant can nominate a leading investor in six categories:

  • Business Angel of the Year,
  • Ecosystem Award,
  • Debutant of the Year,
  • Venture Award by VCLeaders,

and in new and growing market areas

  • Impact Investor of the Year,
  • Best Foreign Investor.

Under the new categories, we want to recognize the best investors who particularly distinguished themselves in 2022 in the area of influencing environmental changes and carrying out pro-social activities (Impact Investor of the Year), as well as the best foreign investors for their activities in the Polish startup market and cross-border investments (Best Foreign Investor).

Nominated candidates will be evaluated by the competition's Jury composed of active market participants, academic experts, investors, representatives of institutions supporting the market, and previous winners. The Jury will evaluate the nominees and select the list of finalists in four of the six categories.  

In the two remaining categories: Ecosystem Award and Venture Award by VCLeaders, the winners will be chosen by the startup community in an open vote. The finalists will be announced during the Business Angel of the Year 2022 Gala in early March 2023.

We encourage you to nominate the best investors here.

Last year, we received more than 200 nominations for the competition. Approximately 900 votes were cast for the business angel and VC finalists in the public voting. An audience of over a thousand people, online viewers and BAY Gala guests, watched the results announcement. Previous years' Main Award winners included Piotr Romanowski (2021), Paweł Kastory (2020), Wojciech Kostrzewa (2019), and Dawid Urban (2018). In addition, last year's winners included Roman Pałac (Debutant of the Year), Olga Sobieraj (Ecosystem Award), Inovo VC (Venture Award by VCLeaders).

We encourage you to follow our social media channels, LinkedIn and Facebook, where we will successively provide information on the competition, Jury members, and dates of the various stages of the competition.